FDA to Adjust Seafood Consumption Advisory

It’s one of those things that happens to writers like me who more often work on a magazine news cycle as opposed to a newspaper’s or online news outlet’s–you write something in an article about a big thing you know is likely to happen because of your own good hard journalistic pavement-pounding, and then the thing happens before your piece is published. Alas. I guess I won’t look as smart as I would have looked had my piece published first, but this isn’t about hubris…

…it’s about health, and I’m pretty excited to see this train publicly leaving the station.

So here it is: A long-awaited change in the FDA’s advisory for fish consumption, advice seen as being out-of-step with science and confusing to consumers, is now publicly in the works. The story broke less than a hour ago in the Wall Street Journal.

I’m flat out on another deadline, but I’ll look to follow-up with commentary over the weekend. First, however, I better contact my editor and tell her we have switch that line in my forthcoming piece about what the FDA is going to do but hasn’t told anyone about yet.

About Ret Talbot

Ret Talbot is a freelance writer who covers fisheries at the intersection of science and sustainability. His work has appeared in publications such as National Geographic, Mongabay, Discover Magazine, Ocean Geographic and Coral Magazine. He lives on the coast of Maine with his wife, scientific illustrator Karen Talbot.
This entry was posted in Human Health, Mercury and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

